About the Association of Anaesthetists

The Association of Anaesthetists, founded in 1932, is the national professional organisation for over 10,000 members, representing the largest medical specialty in the NHS. Anaesthetists (including intensive care and pain specialists) are involved in over 60% of episodes of in-patient care in the NHS. Membership is open to those doctors practising or training in anaesthesia, or allied medical disciplines, principally intensive care and pain medicine.

The Association’s motto in somno securitas (safe in sleep) encapsulates our major focus: safety in anaesthesia. The Association is formed of two organisations that work closely together: the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland, and its charitable arm, the AAGBI Foundation. Different aspects of the work of the Association are conducted by each of the two organisations. The Association headquarters at 21 Portland Place is owned by the AAGBI Foundation, which receives most of its income from a Gift Aid donation from the AAGBI.

For further information, please visit our website.